Seachtain eile spraoi i gcathair Bhaile Átha Cliath!

Well, I can definitely tell whoever reads this that this post is sure to be shorter than the two that preceded it.

But with that, it’s time to recap on the last week! (By the way, the title of this post translates to: “Another fun week in Dublin city!”)

Now, let’s start with where I left off in my last post, hmm now…where was I (shamelessly opens another tab to look, because come on, who remembers what they wrote seven days ago?)

Ahh there it is! The Cliffs of Moher!

This is a photo me at the Cliffs of Moher!

This is a photo of me at the Cliffs of Moher!

The CAPA crew took Saturday and took a jaunt across the Republic of Ireland to see one of the many wonders of this amazing world, the Cliffs of Moher! We were there on a beautiful day. We could see out to the Aran Islands and beyond, it wasn’t horribly windy or cold (despite me wearing a beanie in the picture) and it was great that the entire program took the day trip together. We went out on a bus with members of a language school and a couple of tourists, and the trip took us to a few small towns for meals along with the highlight of going to the Cliffs!

Cliffs of Moher

The Cliffs of Moher, truly a wonderful sight to behold!

When we got back, the Squad (that would be Sydney, Maritza, RJ, Darby, Thomas and myself) went to a play that was being put on for the Dublin Theater Festival. The play was called “I’m Your Man” and I have to say, when it comes to plays, I’m definitely more of a broadway person. This however, was one of the more artsy plays where, for the most part, the actors stood in one place and talked to the audience, with one person doing a lot of interpretive dance. So it wasn’t my cup of tea, but the lighting and music were amazing, so I still enjoyed myself. It was also awesome to experience some culture with some new friends!

The next day was definitely more a relaxing day after the long day of traveling and the play. I did get a chance to go and check out a non-denominational Christian church here in Dublin called Christ City Church with two other people in the program (Jenna and Alexis). The service was great and it was awesome to be back worshipping God, because I had not been to church since the day before I left for Dublin! We went to a burger place called Bunsen after the service, and it was so great! Definitely the best burger I’ve had in Dublin.

This is the church that I believe I will be going to for the next few months! Find out more about them at christcitychurch.ie!

This is the church that I believe I will be going to for the next few months! Find out more about them at christcitychurch.ie!

Monday came, and so began another week of classes…for most people. I turned in my registration sheet and officially signed up for classes. This process has been confusing and stressful for me and definitely a place where I have felt some culture shock. So, to anyone considering studying abroad in Ireland, read up on how classes are registered for so you can be way more prepared than I was!

My schedule is actually really nice this semester. I am taking three courses (because one counts as six credits back at Arizona State). My first class is “Analyzing and Exploring the Global City: Dublin,” which takes place on Wednesdays. It has only four other members of CAPA in the class, so it is very small and I think I will enjoy that a lot. My second class is Creative Writing, which is a big departure from journalism, where we are taught to stick to the facts. That’s on Thursdays. My final class is Irish History and Culture, which is on Fridays. So I have 4-day weekends, which should make for some good time for travel.

I only have one trip booked so far, which is to Liverpool, Manchester and Leeds in December, but there are definitely some more in the works, and hopefully I’ll be seeing a lot of Europe while I am here!

O'Brien's tower at the Cliffs of Moher. Some of the best views at the cliffs can be had by paying €2 and climbing the narrow stairways to the top of this tower!

O’Brien’s tower at the Cliffs of Moher. Some of the best views at the cliffs can be had by paying €2 and climbing the narrow stairways to the top of this tower!

Tuesday was not very exciting, I helped Darby film stuff for a future vlog, so stay tuned for that, and other than that I did not do much because I knew the next day would be extremely exciting!

The next day, yesterday, was my birthday!!!! I turned 22 yesterday, and this was my first birthday outside of the United States. The day started off well as I got to talk to my girlfriend, Julia, over FaceTime just after midnight before going to bed, and then when I woke up, my Global City class took a field trip to the museum of archeology and history. After that was a pretty chill time, where I was kind of sad, due to not being around all my XA and ASU friends, my friends back home in Fort Collins, and my mom on my birthday, but what my friends, both here in Ireland and back in the States did next was awesome.

A few of the CAPA people had me sit down on the couch and close my eyes before they showed me this unbelievable, extremely touching video that they had teamed up with Julia to make.

The reaction video posted right after I finished writing this, of course.

After the video, all of the CAPA crew came over to apartment 204 (aka: my apartment) for a little birthday party/hang out, and we had a great time! I don’t have any pictures of it, but it was a lot of fun!

As for this weekend, I am looking forward to my first weekend of having nothing planned and just getting to relax. Who knows, maybe I’ll even get ahead on some of my essays!

Well, that’s it for now! Have a great week!

Slán agus go mbeannaí Dia thu!

(Goodbye and may God bless you!)

-Jeff Vinton

About Jeff Vinton

Hey, my name is Jeff Vinton and I am a senior at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University! I am studying abroad at Griffith College in Dublin as part of the CAPA Dublin program. I am originally from Fort Collins, CO and I plan to be a sports journalist when I graduate from college. Check out my portfolio for other examples of my work: http://jeffvintonportfolio.worpress.com Have a fantastic day and God bless!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

